Book Blog Tour : FIREFLY by Belle Whittington! Guest Post + Easter Egg Hunt + Giveaways!

SmallButton

I’m very happy to be a part of this book Blog Tour hosted by Books & Broomsticks, and I hope you’ll like my post! As part of the promotional tour, I have a fun guest post written by the author and some giveaways!

about firefly
 From Goodreads:
  “The darkest days are ahead of us,” Andrew whispered as the drape of shadows slipped away, allowing Blair to awaken. And in her heart of hearts she knew it was true. The unmistakable signs were all around her, growing within her. She was becoming something more than human. All she could do was accept the inevitable.
“I’ve become a freak … an alien. I no longer belong to the human world,” Blair told her true love, and he held her close, determined never to give her up.
“I’d stay in this darkness forever as long as I could be with you. Wherever you are … that’s my home.” Everett meant every word. In fact, he’d willingly give up his own life to protect the girl he’d always loved.
But there was a storm brewing … a firestorm so strong and catastrophic that it could keep them apart forever.
That storm roared into town wearing a brown leather bomber jacket and riding a motorcycle.
Ash was like a secret in human clothing … a dangerous secret. Everything about him was mesmerizing – right down to the swirls of ink that flowed over the smooth muscles across his chest and around his arms. Being with him was like playing with fire.
Blair knew all about playing with fire.
She knew something else, too. A small quiet voice deep within whispered that she really would be separated from everyone and everything she’d known and loved. Because some secrets run too deep.

guest-post2

Love Lessons I’ve Learned from Books

There are many types of love: familial love, friendship, romantic love, love of pets, religious devotion, love of home, patriotism, love of possessions.  The list really is endless.  As a student of Literature at University of Houston, I had the chance to read a wide variety of stories, books, and plays covering all types of love.

Color Author Pic-Belle Whittington (1)For instance, the love of honor is strongly threaded throughout my favorite old heroic poem, Beowulf.  If you’ve had the chance to read it, you’ll know what I mean.  Beowulf is steadfast in his conviction to do the right and honorable thing.  It’s one of my favorite things about that tale.  And not only that, Hrothgar the king of the Danes, loved his people and generously shared rings of gold in his mead hall.  What I took away from these two types of love in Beowulf is that one should be true to his/her morals and ethics and also be kind and generous to team members, fellow country-men, and those he/she leads.

But, I digress… I could talk British Literature all day.

In Hunger Games, the friendship between Katniss and Rue is so touching.  Together, they forge a bond, which they are both willing to keep intact no matter the cost … even if the price is one of their lives.  That enormous price is actually paid when Rue stays behind to create a diversion so Katniss can destroy the cache of goods Kato and his group have accumulated.  Pardon me while I wipe the tears from my eyes.  I can’t tell you how hard that scene made me cry when I read Hunger Games!

I think Ender’s Game contains a good example of familial love.  Ender adores his sister, Valentine.  And even though they are separated for years as he attends training, their love remains steadfast between them.  This, also, was a heart wrenching storyline to read.

Little Women has a strong thread of love of family and home embroidered through it.  And the same goes with Anne of Green Gables.  Of course, in that book, you’ll find love of literature, too.  In both of these, I think what I leaned most about love was that it does not always have to be wild and rampant.  It can be love of comfort and home.  After a long hard day at work or school, isn’t that what we all long for … to go home and be surrounded by our loved ones?

The summer I turned ten years old, I read Where the Red Fern grows and cried my eyes out.  If you haven’t read this book, you should.  It’s the heart warming and heart wrenching tale about a boy and his two prize-winning hunting dogs and how both master and canine are willing to fight to the death for each other.  In the end, one dog dies and the other morns herself to death over the loss of her littermate.  And you’ll cry your eyes out when you read it!

Oh, but then there’s romantic love.  Don’t we all adore it?  In Pride and Prejudice, romantic love doesn’t come on swift wings, but grows as Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy come to know each other more.  It’s a love born out of respect and commonality.  It’s probably my favorite love story of all time.  It’s like the best flavor of cupcake topped with an extra dollop of my favorite butter cream frosting.  Reading it once just isn’t enough!

However, there’s a different type of romantic love in books.  I’m currently finishing up Beautiful Creatures, and the fated love between Ethan and Lena is fantastic.  Their relationship, like most fated loves in books, ebbs and flows until they become inseparable.  I haven’t gotten to the end of this book yet, so I don’t have the final outcome.  But I have my suspicions.

What love lessons have I learned from books?  I learned that no matter how far I roam, there’s no place like home; that loyalty, honor, and patriotism is important; that friends are an extension of family, and it’s important to nurture and protect those friendships; that family and pets love with a love fierce enough to fight and die for me; that the kind of love that springs from mutual respect is the most beautiful of all. And I’ve also learned something else.  I’ve got the most wonderful readers in the whole wide world, and I really mean it when I say, “I love my readers!”

giveaway_header_blue21

EasterEggAd

Here are the rules for the Easter Egg Hunt:

1. Search participating blogs for hidden eggs like this one.
2. Go to any Roflcopter Easter Egg Hunt and input the URL of the exact page you found the above image on.
3. You may input 15 unique URLs into the Roflecopter per day to increase your odds of winning the ultimate prize!

You can enter HERE

GOOD LUCK!

2 gânduri despre “Book Blog Tour : FIREFLY by Belle Whittington! Guest Post + Easter Egg Hunt + Giveaways!

Lasă un răspuns

